Environmental bicycle ring 2004
 
 
 
 

AROUND THE GULF OF FINLAND
RESULTS OF THE FIRST ENVIRONMENTAL BICYCLE CAMPAIGN

On 13 August, the participants of the environmental campaign "Bicycle ring - the Gulf of Finland - 2004" made their finish in the Palace Square in St.Petersburg. This Moving Environmental Conference was organized and held by the Centre for Environmental Initiatives, Children of the Baltic with assistance of Sustainable Development Information Agency.

 

 

The campaign started three weeks earlier, on 24 July, from the same place in the Palace Square, by the Alexander Column. Thus, environmental activists completed the ring around the Gulf of Finland - the object of their attention and care. The 1130-km way of the bicyclists went along the South shore of the Gulf of Finland to Tallinn. There they took a ferry to Helsinki, and returned along the North shore of the Gulf to St.Petersburg.

Map of the environmental campaign
"Bicycle ring - the Gulf of Finland - 2004"

 

Map of the environmental campaign "Bicycle ring - the Gulf of Finland - 2004"

The Gulf of Finland has heavy and complex maritime traffic with high risk of accidents. At the same time, the unique ecosystem of the Gulf is the most vulnerable part of the Baltic Sea and requires special protection.

 

       

Coastal zones in all the three countries whose shores are washed by the Gulf attract investors as profitable location for industrial and transport objects. Existing ports are being extended; new ones are under construction or are being planned. In this situation, public participation in decision-making is important to prevent damage to interest of local residents and to the environment. Therefore, AN IMPORTANT MISSION OF THE CAMPAIGN WAS EXPERIENCE EXCHANGE IN PUBLIC PARTICIPATION, ESPECIALLY IN COASTAL PLANNING. At the seminars, round tables and meetings in Narva, Sillamae, Purtse, Tallinn, Helsinki, Porvoo, Primorsk, Sestroretsk, the campaign participants and their Estonian and Finnish partners discussed the most effective forms of public participation in the three countries.

 

       

During the trip, the campaign participants visited ports that exist or are under construction in Lomonosov, Ust-Luga, Sillamae, Tallinn, Helsinki, Porvoo, Kotka, Vyborg, Vyssotsk and Primorsk.

In the Lomonosov town, the entire 11-km coastal strip is planned to be turned into the continuous port-industrial zone, without any access to the sea for local residents. Today here, in addition to the existing five ports, the Nynas bitumen terminal is being built. Also, planned here are a big port Yantar for general cargoes and a huge Finnish-Danish port industrial complex. Public hearings on these objects either were not held or were falsified. The alternative project to organize a nature recreational zone between port areas - the ornithological reserve "Kronshtadt colony wetlands" - was not included in the draft of the new General Plan of St.Petersburg without any explanations. NGOs are planning to organise public discussion of the draft General Plan.

 

       

In the new Ust-Luga port, only the coal terminal is operable yet. The port has no due infrastructure, environmental monitoring and safety divisions. The second railway is being built to the port, while the passenger train communication with Ust-Luga was terminated 1.5 years ago and never restored.

 

       

In Sillamae, the oil terminal is under construction since May 2003 (up to 12 mln t/year). In the beginning of the construction, legislation concerning public participation was violated: the decision was made without any consent of local residents. However, since spring 2004, the investor is in constant dialogue with the public, and information about the port is accessible. Hopefully, the next planned port terminals in Sillamae - for containers, dry cargoes and for passengers - will be constructed without violation of the legislation. Sillamae is lucky, because its industrial zone is separate from the residential one, and such structure is preserved in its development, leaving for resident's access to the sea and possibilities to develop coastal recreational areas. This is a big advantage of Sillamae in comparison with Lomonosov town, whose authorities do not want to develop the existing industrial zone in the southeast part of the town in accordance with the zonal planning. On the contrary, the present plans are to turn the existing natural parts of the coast into an industrial area. At the same time, it should be noted that the first oil tankers would come to Sillamae long before the end of conservation of local storage for radioactive wastes.

 

       

The Porvoo harbour had 1183 ships calls in 2003. Its turnover was 17.5 mln tons (9.8 mln tons discharged, 7.7 mln tons loaded, of which 5.5 mln tons for export, and 90 % of import was from Russia). The oil refinery in Porvoo decreases its discharges to the atmosphere with each year due to constant works on perfection of technologies. The refinery administration seeks good relations with local residents and constantly provides information about the state of the environment around the refinery. Unfortunately, at the Russian shores of the Gulf of Finland investors and authorities feel no responsibilities concerning local residents and do not take real measures to compensate the damage caused by new projects.

The Porvoo harbour, that can receive ships up 250000 tons, and works 24 hours 365 days a year, has only 62 employees. This indicates that highly technological new ports cannot provide new jobs for local population. No wonder that hopes for new jobs in Ust-Luga, Vyssotsk and Primorsk do not come true - local residents there do not have professions necessary for ports, and can be hired by chance only as security or welders.

 

       

ONE OF IMPORTANT GOALS OF THE CAMPAIGN WAS ATTRACTION OF ATTENTION TO BICYCLE AS THE ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY TRANSPORT, AND TO THE NECESSITY OF CREATION OF BICYCLE INFRASTRUCTURE. The campaign participants moved along the bike route Helsinki - St.Petersburg - Tallinn, which is a part of the plan of the Eurovelo bike routes. The Estonian part of this route has signs, and is rather good for bicyclists. In Finland, the route from Helsinki to the Russian border goes along the historical King Road, which was mentioned in historical documents already in the 15th century. A considerable part of the route goes along bike paths and is very pleasant for riding. In Russia the way goes mostly along highways with heavy traffic and is unpleasant, and is often dangerous for bicyclists. Only the Kurortny and Primorskiy districts of St.Petersburg have roads with bicycle-pedestrian paths.

 

       

At the same time, the polls performed by the Centre for Environmental Initiatives in July 2004, the St.Petersburg residents have more bicycles than private cars. More than half of families in St.Petersburg own at least one bike, and each fourth family has two or more bicycles. All these bicycles are almost not used because of the absence of bike routes, bike parkings and other elements of bicycle infrastructure in St.Petersburg. Three of four polled persons are in favour of creation of bicycle paths in St.Petersburg, even those who do not have bikes.

 

       

At the round table in Helsinki, the Russian environmentalists together with Finnish NGO activists and representatives of the city authorities discussed the ways of development of bicycle routes. Finland has enormous experience in this sphere and has one of the best bike infrastructures in the world. Meanwhile noteworthy and inspiring is the fact that forty years ago the situation in Finland was almost the same as it is now in St.Petersburg and Leningrad region.

Many meetings during the bike campaign were devoted to EDUCATION FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT FOR ALL SOCIAL STRATA - from children to representatives of authorities. In Koporye, Vyborg, Primorsk, and Sestroretsk, the campaign participants, members of Children of the Baltic, had lessons with children, round tables for teachers and local activists. Local schools, libraries and NGOs received publications on environmental education, on environmental rights and public participation, on renewable energy sources, on the School Programme for Application of Resources and Energy (SPARE), on the Programme "River watch and Promotion of River Basins Sustainable Management."

 

       

The Leningrad region libraries along the campaign route received the new edition of the book "Our Habitat Values." Meetings with activists at the Russian part of the campaign route were devoted to extension of this book by contributions from local residents about those nature and cultural values in their local communities that experience dangerous anthropogeneous load and need special attention. NGO activists use this book as an argument in the dialogue with authorities, for protection and preservation of nature in the coastal zones.

.

 

       

Participants of all meetings that took place during the campaign around the Gulf of Finland supported the idea of establishing the PUBLIC COUNCIL OF THE GULF OF FINLAND consisting of representatives of the public, science and state environmental protection bodies. This idea is especially important for performing public environmental impact assessment of hazardous objects jointly by experts from neighbouring countries.

 

   

St.Petersburg
2004

 
Up

Экологическое велокольцо 2004
 
 
 
 

ПЕРВОЕ ЭКОЛОГИЧЕСКОЕ ВЕЛОКОЛЬЦО
ВОКРУГ ФИНСКОГО ЗАЛИВА

13 августа в 14 часов на Дворцовой площади в Санкт-Петербурге финишировала экологическая акция "Велокольцо - Финский залив - 2004". Организаторами Движущейся Экологической Конференции под таким названием были общественные экологические организации "Центр Экологических Инициатив" и "Дети Балтики" при содействии информационного агентства "Устойчивое Развитие".

 

 

Участники акции стартовали тремя неделями раньше, 24 июля, с того же самого места на Дворцовой площади, у Александровской колонны. Таким образом, экологические активисты полностью объехали Финский залив - объект их пристального внимания и заботы. Путь велосипедистов длиной 1130 км пролегал вдоль южного берега залива до Таллинна, откуда они переправились на пароме в Хельсинки и затем вернулись вдоль северного берега залива в Петербург.

Карта-схема
Экологическое велокольцо 2004

 

Карта-схема "Экологическое велокольцо 2004"

Финский залив - акватория с напряженным и сложным судоходством. Риск аварий здесь велик, что подтверждают регулярно случающиеся чрезвычайные происшествия с судами на море. В то же время, уникальная экосистема залива является наиболее уязвимой частью Балтийского моря и требует особо бережного отношения к себе.

 

       

Во всех трех странах, чьи берега омывают воды залива, прибрежные зоны привлекают внимание инвесторов как выгодное место расположения промышленных и транспортных объектов. Расширяются существующие порты, строятся и планируются новые. В этих условиях важно участие общественности в процедуре принятия решений, чтобы не допустить ущемления интересов жителей и не насести непоправимого ущерба природе. Поэтому важной миссией акции был обмен опытом общественного участия в принятии решений, особенно по вопросам прибрежного развития, и планирование дальнейшего сотрудничества в этой сфере. На встречах, семинарах и круглых столах в Нарве, Силламяэ, Пуртсе, Таллинне, Хельсинки, Порвоо, Приморске, Сестрорецке участники велоакции обсуждали вместе с эстонскими и финскими партнерами наиболее эффективные формы общественного участия в принятии решений во всех трех странах.

 

       

В ходе своей поездки участники посетили существующие и строящиеся портовые комплексы в Ломоносове, Усть-Луге, Силламяэ, Таллинне, Хельсинки, Порвоо, Котке, Высоцке и Приморске. В Ломоносове запланировано превращение всей 11-километровой прибрежной полосы в сплошную портово-индустриальную зону, не оставляя жителям выхода к морю. Сегодня здесь, в дополнение к пяти существующим портам, строится битумный терминал и планируется порт "Янтарь". Общественные слушания по этим объектам либо не проводились, либо были сфальсифицированы. Альтернативный проект организации природной рекреационной зоны между портовыми территориями - орнитологического заказника "Плавни Кронштадской колонии" - не был включен в проект Генплана СПб без объяснения причин.

 

       

В Усть-Луге по-прежнему работает только угольный терминал. При этом нет сооружений инфраструктуры порта, служб экологического контроля и безопасности. Строится второй железнодорожный грузовой путь, но уже более года не действует железнодорожное пассажирское сообщение для жителей Усть-Луги с "материком". Рабочих мест для местных жителей портовые структуры практически не предлагают.

 

       

В Силламяэ с мая 2003 года ударными темпами строится причал для нефтеналивного терминала (до 12 млн. т нефтепродуктов в год). Начало строительства сопровождалось нарушениями законодательства об общественном участии - жители были поставлены перед фактом принятого без них решения. Но, начиная с весны 2004 года, инвестор находится в постоянном диалоге с общественностью, информация о порте открыта, и предоставляется по первому требованию. Можно надеяться, что следующие терминалы - контейнерный, сухогрузный и пассажирский - будут строиться без нарушений законодательства. Городу Силламяэ повезло - его промзона отделена от жилой зоны, и такая структура города сохраняется при его развитии. Этим город выгодно отличается от Ломоносова, в котором власти не хотят развивать существующую промзону, выделенную в соответствии с зональным планированием на юго-востоке города, а стремятся застроить индустриальными объектами побережье. В то же время можно отметить, что первые нефтеналивные суда порт Силламяэ примет задолго до завершения консервации местного хранилища радиоактивных отходов.

 

       

Порт Порвоо принял в 2003 году 1183 судна. Его грузооборот составил 17,5 млн. тонн (9,8 млн. т разгружено, 7,7 млн. т загружено, из них 5,5-7,7 млн. т на экспорт, около 90 % импорта - из России). Нефтеперегонный комплекс в Порвоо с каждым годом производит все меньше вредных выбросов, чему способствует совершенствование технологий. Администрация стремиться наладить хорошие взаимоотношения с местными жителями и постоянно информирует их о состоянии окружающей среды. В порту Порвоо, который принимает суда водоизмещением до 250000 тонн и работает 24 часа 365 дней в году, всего 62 работника. Это говорит о том, что высокотехнологичные новые порты не могут стать работодателями для местного населения. Неудивительно, что надежды на новые рабочие места в Усть-Луге, Высоцке и Приморске не сбываются - там нет специалистов нужных профилей, и местные жители могут наняться лишь в охрану, и, по случаю, сварщиками.

 

       

Одной из важных задач акции было привлечение внимание к велосипеду как экологически дружественному виду транспорта, и к необходимости создания велосипедной инфраструктуры. Участники акции двигались вдоль велодорожки Хельсинки - Санкт-Петербург - Таллинн, которая пока существует только в планах единой сети веломаршрутов в Европе. На эстонской части маршрута эта велодорожка имеет указатели, и в значительной части довольна комфортабельна для передвижения велосипедистов. В Финляндии маршрут от Хельсинки до границы пролегает вдоль исторической Королевской Дороги, которая упоминается в исторических документах уже в 15 веке, а была проложена, по-видимому, намного раньше. Значительная часть маршрута проходит по велодорожкам и очень приятна для передвижения на велосипеде. В России же в основном маршрут проходит по напряженным автодорогам и неприятен, а часто и опасен для велосипедистов. Только в Курортном и Приморском районах Санкт-Петербурга есть участки с вело-пешеходными дорожками.

 

       

В то же время, согласно опросу, проведенному Центром Экологических Инициатив в июле 2004 года, в Петербурге больше велосипедов, чем личных автомашин. Велосипеды имеют более половины семей петербуржцев, а в каждой четвертой семье - более одного велосипеда. Все эти велосипеды почти не используются из-за отсутствия велодорожек, велопарковок и других элементов велосипедной инфраструктуры. За создание велодорожек в городе выступают три из каждых четырех опрошенных, даже те, у кого велосипеда нет. На круглом столе в Хельсинки с участием представителей администрации города и заинтересованных общественных организаций экологические активисты из России обсудили пути развития веломаршрутов. В этом Финляндия накопила огромный опыт и по праву считается одной из самых велосипедных стран мира. В то же время примечательно, что тридцать-сорок лет назад в Финляндии ситуация с велосипедами была почти такая же, как у нас сейчас.

 

       

В рамках велоакции ряд встреч был посвящен образованию для устойчивого развития для всех слоев общества - от детей до представителей власти. В Копорье, Выборге, Приморске, Сестрорецке участники акции, члены организации "Дети Балтики", проводили занятия с детьми, круглые столы для педагогов, местных активистов. В образовательные учреждения, библиотеки и НКО участники велоакции привезли экологическую образовательную литературу, издания по экологическим правам и общественному участию, по возобновляемой энергетике, о Программе для Школьников по Использованию Ресурсов и Энергии, о Программе "Наблюдение рек и содействие устойчивому управлению речными бассейнами".

 

       

Прибрежные библиотеки Ленинградской области получили от участников велоакции новое издание книги "Наши Ценности Среды Обитания". Встречи с активистами на российской территории были посвящены пополнению этой книги взглядом местных жителей на те природные и культурные ценности, которые нуждаются в сохранении и испытывают опасную антропогенную нагрузку.

.

 

       

Участники всех встреч, которые происходили по пути вокруг Финского залива, поддержали предложение создать Общественный Совет Финского Залива из представителей общественности, науки и государственных природоохранных организаций. Эта идея особенно актуальна для проведения общественной экологической экспертизы опасных объектов совместными силами экспертов соседних стран.

 

   

Санкт-Петербург
2004

 
Up